WLW: Gnome Cones (guest post)

unnamed-3

Hello, hello and happy Wish List Wednesday!

This is Finn, Dessert Oasis’s longtime trusty road trip companion, with you today on assignment at the Dessert Oasis travel desk (because I’m literally stationed on top of desk).

We’ve crisscrossed the country together more than a few times, and oh the sweet memories we’ve shared….. stopping for custard at Ted Drewe’s in St. Louis, eating apple pie in Julian, CA, picking peaches in Bethlehem, CT, lamenting over waffles in Payson, AZ after a car breakdown #kialater…… but if my feet could reach the pedals (no, gnomes don’t have access to magic carpets like genies), or if I was ever asked my destination preference, ahem, where would I go??? Well, I would drive us straight to Argyle, TX, home of Gnome Cones!

unnamed-1unnamed-2

Just thinking about Gnome Cones I’m transported back to my homeland (somewhere in the Austrian Alps), where floral meadows blossom after winter snowfall, pastries are abundant, and I can still procure the occasional exotic fruit. Ahhhh…. Not quite what you picture when you imagine Dallas-Fort Worth, but it’s hard to overcome the mental obstacle of that nightmare airport – I feel you. That’s why we’re driving.

unnamed-4

These snow cones are all natural – no dyes or preservatives – only juice, tea, coffee, coconut cream and SNOW! Snow in Texas!! The world is magic!!! I can only imagine how refreshing and delightful they must be – a far cry from the sickly sweet rainbow “flavored” cones that state fair carnivals try to pass off as “sno” (if it’s not spelled right, you know it’s not right – I’ve picked up a few tips during my time on the desk). Plus – and this is a BIG plus – they look just like me! What’s not to love??

Signing off now – yours in happy travels and sweetie pie dreams,

Finn

unnamed

*photos by @jjordanllane, @food_curator_510, @thebestofdfw_, @gnomecones

 

3 thoughts on “WLW: Gnome Cones (guest post)

Leave a Reply

