paper bag popcorn

img_4517

You. Guys. Did you know you can make popcorn in a plain ol’ paper lunch bag???!!?!

Have I been living under a popcorn rock (possibly due to the fact that my mom doesn’t like popcorn), and everyone reading this is sighing a collective “Duh”? Or is this really some well-kept/long-forgotten microwave culinary secret and you are all shouting a collective “WHAAAT???! YESSSS!!!!!”?

Well, it’s true. A few days ago, my mind was blown when I came across this handy little tip and IT WORKED. No longer do you need to risk popcorn lung or be blessed to have some hand-me-down patinaed popping pot from your great-great-grandma. No. All you need is: a paper lunch bag, 1/2 c unpopped popcorn, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp veg oil, a microwave. Done.

Mix the popcorn kernels, oil and salt in a bowl, dump into the bag, fold it over twice, and throw it in the microwave (on top of a microwavable plate to catch any oil drips), and press go for 2.5-3.5 min. Pull it out when there are 2 secs between pops. It’s as easy as that!

Timing may take a bit of fine tuning. For me, 2.5 min left me with a bunch of unpoppeds, while 4 min gave me a handful of burnies. Practice makes perfect.

img_4520

 

Please note: I’m fully aware that popcorn is more of a snack that a legit “dessert,” but with a revelation as big as this, I thought I’d share. Plus, you can always swap the salt for some cinnamon sugar, or P spice, and then what do you get? Dessert. You’re welcome. And also, if you already knew about this, why didn’t you tell me??!?!

Leave a Reply

