the most wonderful time of the year

IMG_2225

I woke up in a *slight* panic Friday morning thinking, “when do Girl Scout cookies start??” I did some quick investigating, and lo and behold: they started that day. For real. Call it my dessert 6th sense.

Now, I have recently temporarily relocated and I don’t know anyone I don’t know anyone with Girl Scout-aged kids. Since a fundamental part of the GS Honor Code is “to help people at all times,” (and I can only imagine they now issue a ‘Technology’ badge), they have blessedly added a tool to their website that allows you to search for cookie pop-up sales based on zip code. Perfect for me/you/anyone needing a cookie fix whilst commuting through an unfamiliar cookie zone.

Ok. Now that we all have our cookies, let’s address the elephant(s) in the room. I know I usually only post nice things (who wants to hear about gross desserts? not me), but you’ve got your nice thing for the day, and I just can’t stand by silently any longer:

  1. Cookie size. They. Are. Smaller. No doubt about it. And this is not my adult-sized eyes playing optical tricks on me. Much like the shrinking ‘fun size’ candy bar tease at Halloween, they aren’t fooling me. If you are going to decrease the cookie size, you’d better increase the serving size (not mentioning – or maybe I am – the doubling of cookie prices along with the reduction in cookie size….ahem) I’ll say that the recommended serving of 2 cookies should probs be upped to 4 cookies. 3.5 minimum…..but who wants a half-eaten cookie laying around? No one. Therefore, serving size = 4 cookies.

IMG_2232

2. Samoas vs. Caramel deLites. What’s going on here? I know (and now you know) that one of two bakeries bake your GS cookies. The name of your cookies depends on who is doing your baking, and this is based on location. (If Little Brownie Bakers is supplying your area, you’ll get Samoas and Tagalongs. If ABC Bakers is doing the baking, you’ll get Caramel deLites and Peanut Butter Patties. #themoreyouknow)

Names aside, my real beef is with the amount or caramel being used, or lack thereof, as the case may be. When my cookie supplier first changed (let’s say circa 1991), I thought: “Caramel deLites is a dumb name. But it looks like they might be using more caramel, so I’ll go with it.” But long gone are the days of caramel blobs pooling in the plastic trays. Now my inappropriately named Caramel deLite is barely chewy. I can basically SEE the cookie through the thin veil of caramel/coconut/chocolate. Not ok. Caramel deLetDown.

IMG_2226

Rant over. Cookie eating commencing.

 

 

2 thoughts on “the most wonderful time of the year

Leave a Reply

