green tea errything

IMG_1917

“On a serious note though: why is everything fucking matcha flavored?? I mean, I get it. But also, I don’t. Raising the question as to what the tipping point for matcha is.”

-Lauren

======================

IMG_1919

Dearest Lauren,

Yeah, really! What the f is going on? Matcha has been around for over 1000 years so why is it just now showing up all over the place?!?! I feel like it’s only a matter of time before I see green tea Oreos – to which I’d say: “Ew, but maybe just this once….”

I think the whole matcha super trend is based on two things: 1) people wanting to eat cleaner/healthier/more educated, and 2) green is a pretty color.

1) Matcha has about a billion more antioxidants than other ‘superfoods,’ assists with weight loss, detoxes your system, and gives you a nicer/more even/less crashy buzz than jittery coffee. All sounds good to me! Once those facts became more mainstream (ie: once Starbucks in Ohio and Arkansas heard about it and started serving matcha-type drinks in their shops), Americans/the western world was like, “Ok, green is good! Green isn’t slimy! Green from plant is probs better than green from a Monster canned drink! Imma be new age and openminded and get a matcha latte with extra whip and maybe a shot of vanilla!!” Not quite the real thing, but a door-opener at least.

2) Once that major consumer door was squeaked open, matcha was more available in markets everywhere/easily available to bakers/foodies ready to try something “new.” It is in powder form so it easily dissolves in any liquid, and it’s sweeter than regular green tea – perfect to mix into treats-intended doughs. And that bright green!! Really pops in the sea of baked goods browns…..

And so there it is. If a dessert is pretty and also basically gives me superpowers, why not? Not entirely sure that a chartreuse neon glaze on a donut provides the same polyphenols as a legit frothy mug of matcha, but it has to at least be better than a donut rolled in Lucky Charms marshmallows….at least that’s what I tell myself.

Break me off a piece of that vitamin bar,
Dessert Oasis

IMG_1912

 

Have a dessert question?  Email me at courtneysconza@gmail.com – from funnel cakes to fondue fountains, if it has sugar, I’ve probably eaten it.

2 thoughts on “green tea errything

Leave a Reply

